Pickled Green Tomatoes

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 6.48.21 PMI grew up in a house where my mom made everything from scratch, from jams and jellies, to maple syrup, to canned peaches, tomatoes, pickles and much more.  I would have to say that I was pretty spoiled in that department and still am when I receive her care packages from New York with all her goodies tucked in the box neatly. I watched her do this and even helped her with these goodies for years, so I thought why not start my own traditions out here in Colorado, now that I have a place to prepare and store all my delicious things!  And now I can send her a care package as a thank you for all her teachings (thank, mom!)

Why start with pickled green tomatoes, you may be asking yourself?  I had never really heard of these and my mom and I definitely did not make them. However, we had a mammoth tomato plant growing out of the side of house that produced an obscene amount of tomatos. So, we decided to pick and pickle! Really delicious choice it was.  I’ve eaten them right out of the jar, thrown them in salads, or put them on top of a chilaquiles for a pop.

Pickled Green Tomatoes:
Gluten free

  • 4 cups green cherry tomatoes
  • 3 tbsp pickling spice
  • 1 cup white vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar and it turned out great)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • garlic cloves-1 clove for each jar

Instructions:

  1. Wash all tomatoes and slice in half
  2. Pombine water, vinegar and salt in a sauce pan and bring to a boil
  3. In each mason jar add 1 garlic clove and enough pickling spice to cover the botton
  4. Add tomatoes to fill to the top
  5. Pour the brine over the tomatoes and screw lids on tightly
  6. Place in the fridge for at least a week before tasting to ensure a strong pickle flavor

**I used a variety of sizes for my jars, so my measurements are not exact.  I ended up with 5 jars worth of tomatoes.  If you use quart sized jars, you may only need 2 or 3.Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 6.52.06 PM.png

 

Leave a Reply

