Ice Cream Sandwiches

IMG_1578I’m officially on winter break!  Whooooo!!  I seriously couldn’t be any more excited.  This last course I had was challenging both educationally, but also emotionally for me.  There was so much great information that I learned about specific nutrients, vitamins, and minerals, but there was also a fear running
through me about whether or not I’m getting enough of each of these macro & micronutrients.  As a vegan, we have to make sure that we are taking care of ourselves and not becoming deficient or over dosing ourselves with any one of them; either way can be detrimental to our health.  Honestly, thats a whole other tangent and blog post I’m not going to get into right now.  What I do want to get into is how AMAZING these sandwiches are!

Now, I’m not a huge sweet person.  I rarely bake.  It’s not really  my thing, with all that measuring and precision, it makes me go nuts.   When I do though, its usally somthing with fruit, like a cobbler or tart.  But today I wanted to indulge because, well, why the hell not.  I’m done with school and have no responsibilities besides work for the next 3 weeks!  On the other hand, Mike has a HUGE sweet tooth, so he was stoked when I suggested we make these to celebrate me turning in my last exam.

Let’s the start with the cookies.  I can’t take credit for them unfortunately, but I can take credit for turning them into gluten free cookies, which satisfies both my husband and myself.  I believe the recipe came from a Whole Foods magazine a really long time ago, most likely  right after college.  I will say though, these are a hit.  My friends absolutely love these cookies and have hidden them from their significant others in hopes to eat them all! (I’m talking to you Jason)  Here’s what you’ll need:

IMG_3643Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies:

  • 2 cups walnuts
  • 3 tbsp melted coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup vegan sugar
  • 1 tbsp molasses
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1.5 cups GF flour (I used rice flour)
  • 1 tsp xantham gum
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 cups GF rolled oats
  • 1/2-1 cup vegan chocolate chips

 

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Coat 2 baking sheets with melted coconut oil (seperate from amount above)
  2. Blend walnuts in a food processor for 30 seconds or until ground into a fine meal.  Add melted coconut oil and blend for another minute until mixture is consistency of peanut butter.  Remove blade
  3. In small saucepan, add sugar, molasses and 1/2 cup water and bring to boil.  Add to food processer, along with vanilla and stir.
  4. Whisk flour, baking soda, satl, and cinnamon in a bowl.  Add walnut mixture to flour and mix.  Let cool for 5 minutes and then add GF oats and vegan chocolate chips.
  5. Form 2 inch balls out of dough, 2 inches apart from one another.  Flatten cookies out with a fork or cup.  I like to use an ice cream scoop to form the dough balls.  If doing so, make sure to dip scooper into hot water before each one so the dough doesn’t stick.
  6. Bake cookies for about 8 to 10 minutes and tops look brown and dry.  Cool on baking sheets for 3 minutes and then transfer to wire rack.

Peanut Butter & Chocolate Banana Ice Cream

  • 3 over ripe bananas, sliced up and frozen
  • 1/4 cup organic cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup nut butter of your choice–I used Wild Friend Sugar Cookie Peanut Butter this go-around (sooooo good!)

Instructions:

  1. Take the frozen bananas out of the freezer and let defrost for about 30 minutes
  2. In a food processer add bananas and blend until they’re blended smooth; about 3-5 minutes
  3. Add nut butter and cocoa powder and blend until combined

Assembly:

  1. Take two of your cooled cookies and add an ice cream scoop of ice cream to one side of the cookie.
  2. Press the other cookie on top and let sit in the freezer to set up for about 30 minutes.
  3. ENJOY!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

