Kale & Chickpea Caesar Salad

IMG_1758Wow!  I can’t believe it’s already been a whole month since I posted!  Winter break is officially over and I’m 5 weeks into my next course.  Today we were talking about the nutritional differences between cooked spinach and raw spinach and surprisingly, the cooked spinach contained much more nutrients than you would expect, such as vitamin A, Vitamin K, Folate, and magnesium.  It got me thinking about how importatnt it is to make sure to get a good ratio of greens that are cooked and raw to maximize vital micronutrients.   I realized that I really never eat raw Kale, like ever.  I usually cook it and put it into scrambles, casseroles, soups, etc.  This time, I thought I’d step out of my comfort zone and go raw!  I remember seeing a kale caesar salad off a blog I follow, Oh She Glows and thought this was a great way to start off trying one of my favorite vegetables in it’s natural state.  On the other hand, I absolutely LOVE caesar salads.  Not really sure why, considering it’s really just romaine lettuce, crunchy croutons and a creamy dressing and I’m more of the salad-packed-full-of-veggies type of gal, but I can’t get enough of these salads, vegan style of course.

This time I switched it up and used chickpeas for the croutons, as I’m really trying to minimize gluten in my diet and had to switch a few other ingredients in that I had on hand that weren’t in the original recipe.  I’ve heard from a lot of people that it’s hard for them to eat salads during the winter months, for whatever reason.  This salad offers a twist on a classic and using a warm element of roasted chickpeas to make it more comforting during the colder days.  By adding kale to this salad you’re getting anti-inflammatory nutrients, antioxidants, and gulcosinolates; anti-cancer nutrients.  While raw it tasty and nutritious, remember to get a balance of both raw and cooked kale in the diet for maximum nutritional benefits!

Kale & Chickpea Caesar Salad:

  • 1 cup organic romaine, chopped
  • 1 cup organic kale, chopped fine
  • 1/2 cup organic chickpeas, drained and rinsed
    • 1/8 tsp chipotle powder
    • 1/8 tsp onion powder
    • 1/8 tsp garlic powder
  • Nut parmesan to taste
  • Caesar dressing
    • 2 tbsp tahini paste
    • 1 tbsp capers, diced fined
    • Juice of 1/2 a lemon
    • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
    • 1/2 tsp vegan worcestershire
    • 1 tbsp olive oil
    • salt & pepper to taste

Instructions:IMG_1756

  1. In a dry pan, toast chickpeas until brown.  Once they have color, add spices and toss until coated
  2. Add romaine and kale to a bowl and toss together
  3. Top with warmed, spiced chickpeas
  4. Add nut parmesan-to make add sesame seeds, walnuts, cashews, lots of nutritional yeast and salt to a food processor and pulse until combined to look like parm cheese
  5. Top with desired caesar dressing

 

Leave a Reply

