Asian-Inspired Macro Bowl

IMG_0067

Macro bowls are HOT right now and for good reason.  They’re absolutely delicious, really easy, extremely nutritious,  and focuses on a perfect balance of  yin and yang foods.  A traditional macrobiotic bowl consists of around 40-50% whole grains (quinoa, brown rice, barley, millet), 30% vegetables of your choice, 10% beans or legumes, 5% fermented soy, 5% fermented veggies and 5% sea vegetables.  Pretty much my dream in a bowl.

I honestly have never made one, but have gotten them in a local vegan restaurant in Denver a bunch of times.  I’m not really quite sure why I haven’t thought to just make it on my own.  It probably comes down to missing an ingredient or not knowing what to put in it, but after making this one, I now know how easy and diverse they can be to make.

I decided to go with an Asian-inspired one because I just bought this Wildbrine Kimchi I was dying to put with a meal instead of scarfing the whole thing down on my own (which I totally would have done if no one was around).  That’s when a macro bowl came to mind!  I had been wanting to try one and I knew fermented veggies was one of the ingredients, so this was the perfect opportunity to make one.  Luckily, I had just bought a bunch of beautiful produce and had some quinoa leftover (a great grain to make at the beginning of the week), so the rest was easy.  You really could choose any vegetables you wanted, but this time I decided to go with kale and mushrooms.  I went with tempeh for my fermented soy, but you could easily switch it out for some miso soup if you wanted.  I didn’t opt for legumes this time, but feel free to add if you’d like.  And the star of my dish was of course, that delicious kimchi.

If you’ve never tried kimchi or any other fermented veggies, such as sauerkraut, do yourself a favor and give it a whirl.  You’ll want to buy high quality sauerkraut or kimchi that’s located in the refrigerator section of your grocery store and not the canned isle, those are really sub-par in comparison and you may get turned off completely.  I never really liked them much until I taste tested some local ones at our summer farmer’s market.  I was totally hooked after that.  Not only is it absolutely delicious, but it couldn’t be better for you in terms of your digestive health.  Fermented foods balance your gut bacteria in your intestinal tract; increasing healthy flora, they are alkalining to the body and cleansing to the digestive tract, they produce healthy bacteria that fight of pathogens, and they contain antioxidants that help to fight free radicals in the body, just to name a few.  If those foods seem foreign or scary, you could always start with a bottle of kombucha.

Ingredients:IMG_0061

  • 3/4 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 cup kale, chopped
  • 5-7 large mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 cup kimchi
  • 1/4 an avocado, sliced
  • 4 oz tempeh, triangled
  • 1 tsp coconut aminos
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger, grated
  • 1/2 tsp kelp seasoning
  •  1 clove garlic, minced
  • 3 tbsp coconut oil

Instructions:

  1. Heat 1 tbsp coconut oil on med-high heat and add mushrooms until golden brown
  2. Add a splash of coconut aminos to flavor mushrooms.  Remove from pan and set aside
  3. Heat another tbsp of coconut oil and sauté the kale
  4. Add grated ginger, minced garlic, and rest of the coconut aminos until kale is bright green and fragrant.  Remove from pan and set aside
  5. Heat the last tbsp of coconut oil and sauté the tempeh until brown on each side.  Salt and pepper to taste.
  6. In a large bowl begin to assemble all ingredients making sure that you’re able to see all the components.  Sprinkle some kelp seasoning over the top and ENJOY!IMG_0069
3 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve never heard of a macro bowl before, but this looks very interesting. Dining out and learning about new techniques and flavours can be such an inspiration in the kitchen.

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge, a monthly blog link up just for new food adventures. It’s a fun way to share your new food experiences with other foodies. More info here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

    Like

    1. Patti says:

      Thanks for reaching out! I would love to be a part of your Growing Edge portion of your blog. I’m always inspired by other bloggers and appreciate the comradery and love within all of them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. cookiesnchem says:

    Oh, this looks so amazing! YUM.

    Like

Leave a Reply

