Easy Chia Pudding

thumb_IMG_1161_1024Okay, so I must admit I’ve had an aversion to chia seeds and anything made of these tiny little gems for quite some time now.  I remember tasting them for the first time in Kombucha and almost gagging.  It was definitely a texture thing for me; slimy yet crunchy, I just couldn’t understand why anyone would eat these willingly.

Fast forward about 4 years, I’m in school for Nutrition, I’m understanding how nutrient dense these little suckers are and I figure if they have all this fiber, omega-3 fatty acids, protein, manganese, and antioxidants, I should probably give them another go.  And so I did.  And they were completely different than I remembered.  It was most likely the preparation that transformed me, but regardless, I’m glad I’ve been converted.

This batch of chia pudding I made, I prepared for a class presentation on Pantry, Fridge, and Freezer Staples.  We have to present, but also prepare a nutritious meal for our classmates that ties in with our content.  All of the ingredients in this recipe are staples I keep on hand to create an easy, nutritious, well-rounded meal.  Plus we were supposed to present at 10am, so a breakfast item seemed in order.  Well of course, Denver got a huge blizzard, class was canceled and I’m left with a huge batch of delicious chia seed pudding.  Naturally, I’m going to eat it all up 😉

We all know breakfast is super important and really sets us up for the rest of the day, so it’s imperative that it be packed full of the macronutrients (carbs, protein, and fat).  By including all of these into your breakfast meal, you’ll be well-fueled, stay full longer and have sustained energy, giving you less reason to reach for a sugary, caffeine laden snack.
We’ve got full fat coconut milk for our fat, chia seeds for protein and carbs (fiber) and I’ve added berries for color, some sweetness and of course more antioxidants. I’ve also added cinnamon, which is a great anti-inflammatory spice, plus a blood sugar regulator.  The beauty of this basic recipe is that you can add whatever other ingredients you like; additional fruit, spices, and nuts.

Ingredients:thumb_IMG_1160_1024

  • 2 cup full fat coconut milk (or any other non-dairy milk of your choice)
  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup (or less) maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Toppings:

  • strawberries
  • blueberries
  • toasted coconut
  • sliced almonds
  • granola

Instructions:

  1. In a bowl add chia seeds and coconut milk-whisk together
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir until combined
  3. Cover and let sit in the fridge for 8 hour or overnight
  4. Spoon into a bowl and top with desired toppings

**I had to add extra almond milk in the morning to loosen up the pudding.  If you have extra you don’t think you’ll use up in a week, you can freeze the pudding for later use

IMG_1799This might be one of the more simpler recipes, but I promise you it’s super tasty and  its packed full of nutrients.  To make your life even easier in the mornings, ration out the pudding and toppings into individual mason jars for a quick grab-and-go breakfast or snack!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

