Thai Coconut Curry

 

I absolutely LOVE any type of Asian cuisine, but it’s really hard to find options when you’re out, that you know for a fact are vegan.  They also tend to not be the most healthy, are pretty greasy and have lots of MSG added, which has brought me to realization that I just need to start making my favorites at home.  It poses a fun challenge to try and veganize classic Asian dishes that I haven’t had in forever because they add fish or oyster sauce, bonito flakes or some other ingredient I can’t have.  Fortunately, curry is one of the easier ones to make, especially if you can find a curry paste without the fish sauce.  I found a green paste at Whole Foods that was really delicious, called World Foods-Fusion of Flavors.  It’s vegan (obviously), gluten free and non-GMO….score!

Denver’s weather has been quite wacky lately.  We’re in a cold stretch that most likely will end in snow by the end of the week, so naturally I wanted something comforting and slightly spicy to accompany this unwanted April frost.  I went with green curry paste-“Kaeng Kiew Wan,” which literally translates to “sweet green curry.” I like the subtle spiciness of the green, but whether you choose red or green, both will be delicious.   Traditionally, Thai eggplants, thai basil, and kaffir lime leaves are used, but you really can add whatever vegetables you have on hand.  Me, I’m not a huge eggplant fan, so I went with what I had left in my fridge, onions, broccoli and mushrooms.

Ingredients:
vegan, gluten free

  • 2 cups cremini mushrooms-quartered
  • 1/2 large yellow onion-diced
  • 1 small head broccoli, halved florets
  • 2 tbsp vegan green curry paste
  • 1 tbsp unrefined coconut oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp ginger, grated
  • 1 tsp, organic sugar
  • 1 can full-fat coconut milk
  • thai basil
  • cilantro
  • 1 lime, zest & juice
  • 1 cup brown rice, cooked

Instructions:

  1. Start by cooking the rice according to instructions (I do 1 3/4 cup water to 1 cup brown rice)
  2. Heat the coconut oil in a skillet, add the onions, garlic and ginger and sauté for 5 minutes or until translucent.
  3. Add the mushrooms and sauté until golden brown-you may need to add more coconut oil
  4. Add the broccoli, curry paste, and sugar; and sauté until veggies are coated and fragrant.
  5. Add the coconut milk and cover, letting the mixture simmer for about 5 minutes until it thickens and the florets are tender.

thumb_IMG_1187_1024Assembly:

  1. Add about a 1/2 cup of rice to a bowl, top with the vegetable curry mixture.
  2. Tear some thai basil and cilantro over top (I like lots!) Squeeze a quarter of a lime to add a pop of flavor

 

 

Leave a Reply

