Cinco de Mayo

Ok, so I’m late to the party, but I had a serious food coma happening on the actual day and couldn’t muster up enough energy to post.  Good problems to have.

thumb_IMG_4339_1024I had been trying to think of something to make for Cinco de Mayo besides tacos.  Don’t get me wrong, I love me a good taco, but I wanted to do something a little different this year.  As I was perusing the produce section, I stumbled across the hidden fruit tucked away in their little green husks.  Done and done.  Those green tomatoes were going to be transformed into salsa verde to be the star in my Chilaquiles dish.  I usually replicate them from my favorite vegan restaurant and use a black bean sauce on tostadas, not traditional, but super yummy.

This time, I was going traditional and I’m so glad I did.  If you’ve never made tomatillo salsa from scratch, give it a try.  It’s super easy and way better than any store bough brand.       I was also happy I strayed from my typical tostada route and went with tortilla chips.  I decided to make my own out of corn tortillas, that way I could control the quality of ingredients and make them extra big to soak up that delicious sauce.  Sub out the classic egg for some scrambled tofu, drizzle with some chipotle cashew cream and top with avocado and you have a serious flavor party happening!

Ingredients:

IMG_2040Salsa Verde:

  • 10 tomatillos
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1/2 medium yellow onion
  • 2 cloves garlic (keep in skin)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup cilantro
  • juice of 1/2 a lime
  • 1 tsp salt

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees
  2. Rough chop the first  three ingredients, toss is olive oil and spread out on a baking sheet with the garlic.  Roast for 20 minutes or until veggies are soft
  3. Once cooked, transfer to a food processor, add the lime juice, salt and cilantro and blend.

Homemade Tortilla Chips

  • Organic, non-GMO corn tortillas, cut into 4 triangles
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • salt

Instructions:

  1. Keep the oven pre-heated at 350
  2. Spread tortilla triangles on a baking sheet and drizzle with coconut oil and salt
  3. Bake until crispy and light brown

Chipotle Cashew Cream

  • 1 cup organic cashews
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 chipotles in adobo sauce
  • water for thinning

Instructions:

  1. Soak the cashews in water overnight.  This releases that phytic acid and makes them soft for blending
  2. Drain the cashews and rinse and add to a blender.  Add olive oil, salt and olive oil.
  3. Blend, adding water until you’ve reached a semi-thick consistency
  4. You’ll have way more cream than you’ll need for this dish, set some aside, leaving about 3/4 cup in blender.
  5. Add chipotles and blend

Tofu Scramble:

  • 1/2 cup extra firm organic tofu
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder

Instructions:

  1. Heat coconut oil in a skillet over med-high heat
  2. Crumble the tofu and crisp on one side
  3. Add salt and turmeric powder and coat tofu

Assembly

  1. Layer a skillet with the tortilla chips, I used about 8
  2. Smother with warm tomatillo salsa, about 1/2 cup
  3. Add scrambled tofu
  4. Drizzle with cashew cream
  5. Add some sliced avocado and cilantro
  6. ENJOY!

thumb_IMG_4337_1024

 

Leave a Reply

