Hummus, Sweet Potato & Black Bean Quesadilla

So I’ve officially gone gluten free and let me tell you it has not been easy.  I’ve definitely had a few slip-ups along the way, but have noticed feeling less bloated, less digestion discomfort and my skin has cleared up and stayed that way (when I haven’t cheated).  Gluten intolerance can manifest in many different ways and a lot of people will go undiagnosed their entire lives.  Although I don’t have Celiac Disease or severe symptoms, I knew that gluten could impose the issues I’ve been experiencing due to it’s inflammatory properties.  I figured I should give it a shot if I could live my life with less discomfort.

Bread (God, I love bread) has been the most difficult thing for me because A.) It’s the most delicious thing and B.) almost all GF bread has eggs in it.  I’ve found very few that offer a completely vegan option, but thankfully more and more are coming out.  Wraps too, have been difficult because that was usually my go-to option when I went out to restaurants; veggies, hummus, in a wrap, easy peasy.  And even though my cravings for these foods has diminished, I still want a sandwich, burrito or quesadilla from time to time that won’t fall apart!  If there’s one thing I hate, it’s when the vessel that holds my food, crumbles and leaves me with a mess!   It’s taken some time, but I finally found a GF wrap that has stood up to making burritos and takes on that crispy exterior you want in a good quesadilla.  Although not necessarily the cleanest food I’ve eaten, sometimes you just have to treat-yo-self with some GF carbs.  For this round, I went with LaTortilla Factory Ancient  Grain, Ivory Teff wraps and it was delish!   I’ve also loved using hummus as a substitute for lots of different things, such as butter on potatoes, for a creamy salad dressing and for this recipe, as the ‘cheesy’ glue that holds it all together.  Feel free to get creative with your “stuffings.”  These were just the things I had laying around I thought would go great together.

thumb_IMG_7931_1024

Quesadilla

  • 1/4 cup organic garlic hummus
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/8 tsp chipotle powder
  • 1/2 cup roasted sweet potatoes, peeled & cubed
    • To roast the sweet potatoes, preheat the oven to 400 degrees farenheit
    • Toss in olive oil and place on baking sheet for 30 minutes or until soft
  • 1/4 cup black beans
  • 1/4 cup yellow onion, chopped
  • handful cilantro, chopped
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Instructions

  1. Combine the sweet potatoes, black beans, onion, cilantro, salt and pepper in a bowl and combine
  2. Lay out the GF wrap and spread your choice of garlic hummus to half of the wrap
  3. Sprinkle with nutritional yeast and chipotle powder
  4. Layer that with the sweet potato mixture and fold in half
  5. Heat the oil over medium heat in a large skillet
  6. Place the quesadilla in oil, cooking until golden brown on one side.  Then flip over and repeat on the other side
  7. Once crispy and warmed through, transfer to a plate and top with organic salsa and/or an easy guacamole
Leave a Reply

